Share |

EL PASO, Texas – June 11, 2015 – The El Paso Chihuahuas, in conjunction with Leg Up Entertainment, announce the return of the GECU Mexican Baseball Fiesta on September 25th and 26th at Southwest University Park. Game times are at 7:05 p.m. and 1:05 p.m., respectively.


The Fiesta will feature two teams from Mexico, Los Naranjeros de Hermosillo and Los Águilas de Mexicali, members of the Pacific League of Mexico. 


"The GECU Mexican Baseball Fiesta is El Paso's chance to experience the game as it's played and presented in Mexico, and to see some truly great players,” said MountainStar Sports President Alan Ledford. “Last year's games demonstrated what a fun and entertaining event this is, and we look forward to hosting Mexico's best players again in September."


Similar to last year, the GECU Mexican Baseball Fiesta will have a fun atmosphere that resembles the league’s regular season games with music, food, and entertainment. 


“Building on the success of 2014, it is only fitting that we host the GECU Mexican Baseball Fiesta again,” said El Paso General Manager Brad Taylor. “The support from El Paso, Juarez and the surrounding region shows how important it is to bring these games to El Paso.”


Season Seat Holders will be receiving more information on purchasing their season seats for the two games. Also, Full Season Seat Holders will be given the first opportunity to purchase additional tickets starting at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, June 24th with Paw-tial Plan Holders receiving the same pre-purchase benefit on Thursday, June 25th. Fans who preregistered online will be eligible to purchase tickets that Friday.


Tickets will go on sale to the general public on Saturday, June 27th at 10 a.m. at Southwest University Park’s Santa Fe and Durango box offices and online at Prices start at $5. 


The Mexican Baseball Fiesta debuted as a four team tournament in 2011 in Tucson, Ariz., an event that also featured Hermosillo. Building from the success of the previous three years, the Mexican Baseball Fiesta has grown throughout Arizona, Northern Mexico, and Texas. This year’s action will include exhibition games in El Paso, Phoenix, Las Vegas and Tucson and run through October, prior to the start of the Pacific League of Mexico season. 


The Pacific League of Mexico was founded in 1945 and plays from October through February. The champion of the league, also referred to as the Winter League of Mexico, plays in the Caribbean World Series, a title taken home by the Naranjeros in February of this year. 


Naranjeros de Hermosillo

Los Naranjeros are based in the Capital of Sonora.  Los Naranjeros de Hermosillo are one of the most successful teams in the Mexican Pacific League, having won 16 league titles and are the recent winners of the Caribbean Series title, their second in league history. In 1976, they became the first Mexican team to win the Caribbean Series. Former Hermosillo players include Curt Schilling, Larry Walker, Fernando Valenzuela, Erubiel Durazo and Vinny Castilla.


Águilas de Mexicali

Located in Baja California, Los Águilas de Mexicali have won the Mexican Pacific League championship three times (1986, 1989, and 1999). The team also won the 1986 Caribbean Series, played in Venezuela. Former players include Fernando Valenzuela and Mike Piazza as well as current San Francisco Giant and World Series Champion, Sergio Francisco Romo.

Fetch the FuN!

  • [4 Fotografias]

  • [9 Fotografias]

  • [5 Fotografias]

  • [6 Fotografias]

  • [6 Fotografias]

  • [10 Fotografias]

  • [6 Fotografias]

  • [4 Fotografias]

  • [4 Fotografias]

  • [6 Fotografias]